Italian papers respond to Rodriguez-SMS contact: 'Rocchi right not to give a penalty'

14 April at 12:30
AC Milan defeated Lazio 1-0 yesterday at the San Siro thanks to Franck Kessie's converted penalty in the second half. The visitors demanded a spot kick in the final minutes of the match based on a contact between Rossoneri defender Ricardo Rodriguez and Sergej Milinkovic-Savic but match official Rocchi did not award a penalty to the Biancoceleste. And major Italian newspapers agree with the referee.

As reported by Gazzetta dello Sport, Rocchi was right to cancel the first penalty awarded to Milan for Acerbi's handball in the penalty box but the second penalty was clear after Durmisi's foul on Musacchio.

Meanwhile, in the above-mentioned moment, Rodriguez touched the ball first by deflecting the trajectory and removing the potential possession of the Serbian player. Turin-based Tuttosport agree with this, pointing out that first there was contact with the ball and then the opponent.

Milan sits 4th in the Serie A table and increased their lead over Lazio to 6 points, with the team from the capital having one game less (vs Udinese).

Comments

comments powered by Disqus

More news about...

Lazio
Milan
 

Calciomercato.com ha aggiornato la propria Privacy Policy in funzione della nuova legge europea, la General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

Questo sito utilizza cookie, anche di terze parti, per inviarti pubblicità e servizi in linea con le tue preferenze. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie.

Scorrendo la pagina o cliccando il pulsante "ho capito" acconsenti all'uso dei cookie e accetti la privacy policy.

We'd like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.