• AFP/Getty Images
    FIFA World Player of the Year - the 23-man shortlist

    FIFA World Player of the Year - the 23-man shortlist

    FIFA has announced their 23-man shortlist for World Player of the Year. The award, which is now separate from the Ballon d’Or remains one of the most prestigious in the game and Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon has once again been nominated. In fact, the 38-year-old custodian is the only representative from Serie A. Just like the Ballon d’Or, Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo is the firm favourite to take the trophy along with club teammate Gareth Bale. Leicester City striker Jamie Vardy and midfielder Riyad Mahrez, are also among the finalists alongside Euro 2016 top goalscorer Antoine Griezmann. The winner will be announced next month.

    The list in full:
    Sergio Agüero, Gareth Bale, Gianluigi Buffon, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kevin de Bruyne, Antoine Griezmann, Zlatan Ibrahimović, Andrés Iniesta, N'Golo Kanté, Toni Kroos, Robert Lewandowski, Riyadh Mahrez, Lionel Messi, Luka Modrić, Manuel Neuer, Neymar, Mesut Ozil, Dimitri Payet, Paul Pogba, Sergio Ramos, Alexis Sanchez, Luis Suarez, Jamie Vardy.

    Steve Mitchell @barafundler

    Altre Notizie